Midweek Hiking

One of the first things I did here was to source for suitable MeetUp groups so I don’t spend all the time twiddling my thumbs and spending a fortune on tourist traps.

MeetUp is a social network of local communities with similar interests ranging from sports to book clubs. I recommend this to anyone who’s on extended vacation. relocated to a new town or even at home if you want to try something new.

For a start, I joined “The Seattle New in Town” and “Midweek Hiking”. Signed for a walk at Green Lake and secretly hoped it isn’t an April Fool’s joke.

I read that it’s burning hot in Singapore and that’s probably where the sun went overnight. Seattle is back to grey overcast sky this morning and I was so tempted to stay indoors twiddling my thumbs.

But NO, I didn’t come all the way here to spend my time watching TV and checking emals.

It’s definitely colder today.

My temperature rating is based on how many layers of clothes I need to stay warm. Today it is 4 layers, with gloves and woollen cap in the bag in case I needed them. Reminds me, I really need to get a good hoodie to get by comfortably here.

Meeting time was 10.15am at the Small Craft Centre south of the lake. I arrived at 10.32am and must have missed the group. Just to be sure, I asked a friendly looking lady about the location and found myself a walking companion, Sandy.

Sandy walked with me for a mile and we had a really lovely conversation. She told me about Seattle as it was 40 years ago when she first moved from another state. Recommended the local zoo in the neighbourhood and several ‘must go’ local places.

After we parted, I continued on clockwise round the lake, took photos with my phone camera which really isn’t doing justice to the beauty of the place. As proof that I was at Green Lake so I won’t be “black-listed” by Midweek Hiking, I got a resting biker to take a photo of me.

Image

Though I drove to the lake, I found out that I could actually walk from where I’m staying. This must be the lake I saw the other day. Fantastic! I can do the 2.8miles walk everyday for the rest of the month.

Ah! and the sun is out again just as I finished this post.

JY

4 thoughts on “Midweek Hiking

  1. Hi Joan,
    How wise you are for your tender age. Love hearing from you and follow your adventures. Take good care and keep warm. Love Christiane

  2. Now that Kris is back, you can find out from her if there are interesting classes, you can sneak in to listen. Another way of discovering Seattle.

Leave a Reply

