Week with Jim Rogers

The past two weeks were spent in the middle of a distribution district with no swanky cafes or beautiful parks with hiking trails for miles around. I literally have to drive miles to get to a shopping strip or a greenbelt.

To think I gave up Seattle for Kent. It’s a choice and a compromise. Wouldn’t say I’m coop up in a hotel room (or suite as its being advertised). I get to cook which is a big plus and I’m closer to my son’s school. Still, there’s nothing much to do around here.

Watched live coverage of the sensationalized murder trial of Jodi Arias and the White House scandals; and re-runs of Driving Miss Daisy, Beaches, Stepmom, It’s Complicated, The Iron Lady and Billy Elloit.

Read Adventure Capitalist by Jim Rogers which I didn’t get to do when it was first published in 2003. Actually it’s the same with those movies when they were in the cinemas. I’m really catching up and glad I did it.

So I spent an entire week following Jim Rogers travelling back in time on his trip to 116 countries over 150 thousand miles through civil wars crossing from one millennium to the next.

Few as wealthy as him would choose to travel as he did. Steve Fossett comes to mind but can’t think of any one else.

What I love most is his outlook at the start of the book “If the trip killed me, I would die happy, pursuing my passion. And that was better than dying on Wall Street someday with a few extra dollars in my pocket.”

There are many other snippets of wisdom and worldly observations from an incredibly successful investor. Only thing is reading the book now gives me the pleasure of hindsight vision and realized that even the most astute business person can get it wrong sometimes. The difference is successful people know how to right the wrongs and make things work for them.

As we know, Jim Rogers is now residing in Singapore. In his book he gave credits only to Lee Kuan Yew for the astonishing success of Singapore as the first, long-serving prime minister even though Goh Chok Tong was holding office since 1990. That’s Lee’s legacy – building the foundations of our republic.

But those foundations were laid on a disciplined workforce and a culture of conformity which has a negative impact on creativity and innovation. We have to unwind the years of straitjacket thinking or be left behind in the 21st century. Can we do it?

Adventure Capitalist is a rare book in the sense that it is an economics travel journal and Jim Rogers is, as Time magazine labelled him, “the Indiana Jones of finance”.

Excellent read.

JY

Image

One thought on “Week with Jim Rogers

  1. I have not read that book either , I need to catch up as you said….I like the quote you singled out , on being happy while travelling….I know of many retired people just doing that…

Leave a Reply

