Have you ever been mellow

I remember meeting my boss’s wife for the first time in the 80s. She seemed a powerful woman and I didn’t really know what to say to her. Certainly didn’t know what she thought of me.  It was a scary affair. I was on teeters.

Fast forward 23 years, having met a few more times, even sleeping over in their house and last night helping out in their kitchen, we’ve never been more open and comfortable with each other. I felt a special bond.

The day before, I visited my primary schoolmate who settled in the UK over 30 years ago. We stayed in touch through the years writing aerograms and today chatting on whatsapp. We’ve both changed, somehow drifted apart for some years but now there is a new kind of closeness and understanding.

It’s nice to be of this age – talk about the children all grown up, our trials and tribulations, bucket list mentioned every now and then, how mutual friends are doing, and glad we’ve still got the energy to pursue a dream or two. There’s nothing more delightful than seeing old friends again sharing stories, jokes and songs of our era.

I realized that everyone’s mellowed. Olivia Newton-John’s song came to mind.

There was a time when I was in a hurry as you are – I was like you….

Glad we’re not running around with our heads up in the clouds these days. Glad we could pick up from where we left off in another time, in another place.

JY

3 thoughts on “Have you ever been mellow

  1. Hi Joan; Another great information piece. I find myself still caught up in the race, and thank God I have my auto and now boat to step aside from it all and slow down. Hopefully it helps control my blood pressure and my composure.

  2. I love your words, they express your thoughts and make me think in a different way of how languages are so explicit. Such as the word “titters”. Lonnie

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

