Writer’s Block

WritersBlock

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Thinking of what to write and all I could come up with are these silly dots. This isn’t funny. It’s been weeks since I wrote anything.

So there’s really such a thing as writer’s block.

I had a chat with a friend about this. He consoled and inspired. It helped. I felt better but still far from writing a masterpiece.

Reminds me of my art class – staring at a blank canvas. My teacher leaned over and told me that the mind alone won’t create a picture. The picture in the mind isn’t worth anything until it can be seen by someone else. I bet he had his fair share of staring at blank canvases.

Perhaps a little setup can help. I put the music on, poured myself a small glass of red and opened a new Word doc.

It’s the Beatles on air now – Let it be.

Someone commented that old songs taught him about life, lessons in the presence of absent parents. … Whisper words of wisdom.

I checked my Facebook. Oh! A friend is now in Barcelona, another celebrating her wedding anniversary, updates of holidays, inspirational quotes, events of the world, sharing, posting, connecting.

The wine is working. The music like a warm blanket on a cold night. Feeling fine.

Still nothing to write about but it’s alright. It’ll come someday. Writing is also a journey and I’ve just started.

Joan Yap

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. Yes, welcome to the club! I’d resist and procrastinate until the pressure is too great to ignore, and then something magically comes out and I can’t stop but only regret that I didn’t get started earlier!

Leave a Reply

