Camino ~ Villafranca to La Faba

Day 6 … 7th August 2015

This morning, I had the best breakfast so far and felt really upbeat. Must be the queimada from the night before.

Leaving Villafranca del Bierzo, I found out that there are three ways – two of them involve climbing up to as high as 1000m and the other along the highway. Undecided, I met a pilgrim from Fenix who was going for the flatter shorter less scenic route. So I followed him and walked non-stop for 22km from 7am till 1pm, and another 3km climb to cool La Faba at 900m.

 

The N-VI route passing several towns and villages
IMAG3901
Lunch stop at Herrerías
Entering the wooded ascent to La Faba

IMAG3912

Checked into the church albergue run by a strict German gentleman who commented I was the first pilgrim he received from Singapore. Before I could start a conversation, he went about meticulously registering and informing me about the general rules and facilities of the albergue. On with the next pilgrim in the queue.

I must be missing the simple luxuries of hooks and hangers in the showers. This place has the best bathrooms so far. Even clothes pegs and linens are such thrills to find. But when all I need is a flat soft warm surface to sleep on and a modest place to clean, everything else is a bonus.

To be honest, it’s quite an effort keeping up with this blog. The WiFi is usually very poor or non-existent, and power points are hard to get. Right now I’m in a bar in this pretty village tapping on my phone with low battery and think I must seem seriously unsociable and have my priorities wrong.

The blog can wait but not the company. So I’m going to mingle with my new friends, immerse in the beauty of the countryside, smell the forest, listen to distant cow bells, watch the setting summer sun, absorb in the changing colours from day to night and feel the present here and now.

Joan Yap

Leave a Reply

