Camino ~ Palas de Rei to Ribadiso

Day 11 … Wednesday, 12 August 2015

Have you read a good book and you don’t want it to end? To me, the Camino is like a good book.

It occurred to me this morning that I will reach Santiago in 2 days’ time. How did time go by so quickly? Was just getting used to the routine of waking up each morning only to walk.

Today I walked very slowly, mindful of every step, remembering every scene – the colours of the sky at daybreak, the distant villages, churches, bridges, pilgrims walking, running, cycling, the conversations, stories, laughter, the bliss and blisters, the food and wine, the smells and many many more unique experiences.

IMAG4269
One of the several Roman bridges but can’t recall the name
Raising funds for pilgrims with special needs
Cows roam freely in the villages
Must try – Pulpo de la Gallega

For a few days, one song stuck in my head and I would be singing to myself when walking alone. Once in a while, someone passed me by and sang along…..”stopped into a church I passed along the way, well I got down on my knees and I started to pray.” Played it on youtube for a new friend during lunch and the cafe owner, obviously a Mamas&Papas fan joined the singing. We boomers had a great time.

Crossed a stream in the woods, saw these guys enjoying themselves, unable to resist, removed my shoes and joined them. What a relief  – those sore feet soaked in the cold water and the tired body bathed in forest aromatherapy … it was wonderful.

Arrived in Ribadiso, again no more rooms in albergues but managed to get a farmhouse stay for 28 euros including dinner and breakfast. Casa Vaamonde is one of the most comfortable stays I ever had. Dinner was delicious home cooked with desert made from the milk of their own cows.

Traditional Galician grain storage in farmhouse

In the night it started to rain, releasing the natural fragrance of this beautiful land. The farmhouse was all quiet except for cow bells from the shed, a dog barking somewhere beyond the fields and the soothing rain drops falling on the trees. Was an amazing feeling!

Glad I took the chance – wouldn’t have experienced a farmhouse stay if I had a bed in an albergue. Everything has turned out well. El Camino does take care of its pilgrims.

Joan Yap

5 thoughts on “Camino ~ Palas de Rei to Ribadiso

  1. Hi Joan I am loving your blog. I remember that gorgeous man with the one leg and the beautiful stamp he produced. I’m so glad you are having a wonderful time. and thank you so much for sharing.

    1. Dear Mary,
      Thank you for your kind comment.
      I always feel very blessed to be able to walk the Camino and meet all the wonderful people along the Way.
      Perhaps one day, we may meet somewhere too.
      Have a lovely weekend.
      Joan

Leave a Reply

